Barcelona Balcony Copycat: Intro


Barcelona Balcony Dress

Specs: 

Fabric: Lined dress with crinkle chiffon overlay. Yoke, bodice back, and waistband are of black cotton knit. Close-up photo below.

BB dress close up

Bodice: Front: Lined with gathered chiffon overlay; cotton knit yoke creates triangle cut-out. Back: cotton knit with curved v-neckline.

Sleeves: Sleeveless

Skirt: Knee length, full, lots of gathers at waist; waistband piece

Closure: CB invisible zipper

Special Details: Triangle cutout, and mix of fabrics keeps it interesting.

Thoughts:

I love the color! I believe Modcloth calls it “chili red”.  The thought behind this frock was that it would be a good date dress for Valentine’s Day. Usually hubby and I go out to dinner. This year we will be going to see Les Miserables in Raleigh, NC. Out of town trip, yay! Given that I now have a specific event for this dress, I did have a fleeting thought of somehow making it more formal. Upping the ante, so to speak. Maybe making it one of those trendy hi-low hems? I’m still waiting for that fad to die out, but it doesn’t seem to be going anywhere. If I wanted it knee length later, it would be easy enough to make a shorter even hem. Maybe I just make it floor length? When was the last time I wore a floor length dress? Oh yeah, my wedding! I’m a strictly cocktail length woman. Would floor length be too dressy?  What do you guys think?

Progress:

I’ve been looking at fabrics online, of course erring toward the side of cheap. I really like the idea of using a black eyelet in place of the black knit. I’m going to use a red, lightweight satin as my lining/base fabric, and a red chiffon for the overlay. It won’t be the crinkle kind that I believe was in the original dress, but I will have the eyelet to give some texture variation.

I have sourced commercial patterns that would be viable to work from to create this look.

Patterns that are similar in style:

Butterick B5491, Simplicity 1803, Vogue 8574, New Look 6224

Patterns that can be modified: 

McCalls M6893, Simplicity 2215, New Look 6143

Materials:

  • McCalls M6893 (See above for other pattern options.)
  • 2 yds of Satin/Lining Fabric
  • 2 yds Chiffon
  • 1/2 yd Black Eyelet Fabric
  • Size 10 machine needles
  • Matching serger thread (If you choose to to a rolled hem.)
  • Black invisible zipper

I will be creating a tutorial on how to make this dress using the McCall’s pattern M6893. Feel free to sew along with me!

Barcelona Balcony Dress: Issue 1 (What You Need to Get Started.)

Barcelona Balcony Dress: Issue 2 (Determining Your Pattern Size; Tracing Patterns.)

Barcelona Balcony Dress: Issue 3 (Dart Manipulation; Slash and Spread.)

Barcelona Balcony Dress: Issue 4 (Yoke Front and Bodice Front Lining.)

Happy Sewing!

-Stini

One thought on “Barcelona Balcony Copycat: Intro

Leave a Reply

